DVDFile.com  

Go Back   DVDfile.com forum for DVD, Blu-Ray, and HD-DVD > GENERAL HOME THEATER DISCUSSION > Standard Definition Hardware
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2001, 09:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Actor
 
brian1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin
Paradyme digital audio 2002

I just bought a pair of Paradyme DIGITAL3810SL speakers from a friend who decided they were too expensive, and was wondering if anyone knew anything about them. I dont know much about them. i have some digital pictures of them and the box but i dont know how to put them up here. I found some on Ebay, you can check them out there, but i couldnt find any more information on them anywhere on the web



[This message has been edited by brian1234 (edited 11-13-2001).]
brian1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2001, 04:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Actor
 
brian1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin
well i guess no one knows anything about these or this brand? here are the specifications, at least tell me if those sound good:Model: Paradyme Digital Audio 3810SL Color: Natural Low Frequency Drivers: 2x8" Poly-Laminate Cone Design Mid-Range Frequency Drivers: 5" Poly-Laminte Cone Design High Frequency Driver: 1" Silk Fiber Dome Frequency Response: 28Hz-20KHz +/- 3dB Sensitivity: 91dB @ (1 Watt/1 Meter) Nominal Impedance: 4-8 Ohms Power Handling Capabilities: RMS: 150 Watts/Channel PEAK: 350 Watts/Channel Max SPL: 111dB Cabinet Design: Bass Reflex Dimensons: 38"x10"x11" (HxWxD)
brian1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2001, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Admin Emeritus
 
Taxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Orygun
Why don't you just listen to them and see if *you* think they sound good.

------------------
Taxi - DVDFile Forum Administrator
Eleven plus two = Twelve plus one
Taxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2001, 07:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Actor
 
brian1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin
they do, but i am skeptical about them, as i havent been able to find any info on this brand of speakers anywhere, not even on www.paradyme.com , all they have on there website is other peoples products, doesnt even look like the sell there own. i just want to know a little about the brand as i have never heard of it before.
brian1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2001, 07:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Actor
 
brian1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin
I just found out that these are probably from some scam. do an internet search on white van scam. i found one site that mentioned digital audio as part of one, so i am guessing it is these and that is why i have never heard of them, oh well only payed $200, sure i can pawn them for that much, and they do really sound decent. SO everyone beware of these if someone tries to sell them to you.
brian1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2001, 09:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bumblefark, PA
Are they mains or surrounds?
Templar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2001, 09:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Admin Emeritus
 
Taxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Orygun
I'd bet these are scam speakers. I fell for it too. When I saw "Paradyme" my mind thought "Paradigm", which is a well respected high-end speaker company.

But hey, if they sound okay to you, keep using them.

Just out of curiosity, did you buy these from guys in a white van?

------------------
Taxi - DVDFile Forum Administrator
Eleven plus two = Twelve plus one
Taxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2001, 09:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Producer/Admin
Careful, or I'll ban myself...
 
1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: San Jose, CA
Oh shit. I didn't even realize we weren't talking about Paradigm. Wow, yeah, that's reeks of shadiness.

------------------
1138 - DVD File Forum Greeter/Moderator
The defense department regrets to inform you that your sons are dead because they were stupid.
1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2001, 10:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Producer/Admin
NSFW
Off 'the list'
 
Wirehed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sacto, Ca --Near Galt, home of LeVar Burton
I don't get it. What's the scam?
Wirehed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2001, 11:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Admin Emeritus
 
Taxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Orygun
The "White Van" scam usually entails buying speakers from a guy who just "couldn't afford them anymore" so he's willing to dump them off to you rather than taking them back to where he bought them. ("I don't want to hassle with taking them back", "I bought them online" etc.) So they claim you're getting "Name brand" speakers (like "Paradyme") when actually you're getting speakers that aren't worth the cardboard they come packaged in.

That's the scam.

------------------
Taxi - DVDFile Forum Administrator
Eleven plus two = Twelve plus one
Taxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2001, 11:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Actor
 
brian1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin
Yeah do a search for white van speaker scam and you can read all about it and the different brands they sell. no they werent in a white van, but i have a feeling i was scammed, but they were $200 which isnt too much, i figure i can pawn them for at least that, and they actually do sound decent. Yeah i didnt realize about the spelling until i later.(paradigm/paradyme)

[This message has been edited by brian1234 (edited 11-15-2001).]
brian1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2001, 12:05 AM   #12 (permalink)
Admin Emeritus
 
Taxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Orygun
$200 is too much if they're only worth $20.

------------------
Taxi - DVDFile Forum Administrator
Eleven plus two = Twelve plus one
Taxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2001, 12:46 AM   #13 (permalink)
Producer/Admin
NSFW
Off 'the list'
 
Wirehed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sacto, Ca --Near Galt, home of LeVar Burton
Well they are worth what you are willing to pay for them. If they sound like they are worth the $200 to you then I guess they are.

It's about the same as buying Bose speakers for $1000 at Good Guys, isn't it?
Wirehed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2001, 04:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
Producer/Admin
Coffee Boy
 
Chromy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Greater Seattle Area, WA
HA!

I thought at first that he brian was just spelling paradigm -- paradyme
Chromy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:42 AM.


DVDfile, LLC